Changing handlebar mount shifters to STI Shifters

ar24
ar24 Posts: 17
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm new to road cycling and just wanted some info about changing or "upgrading" my bike so to speak.

My bike has Shimano handlebar mount SL-A050 14 speed and I would like to change them to integrated STI shifters.

I'm looking for advice on what STI shifters to get. Would I have to get 7-speed shifters? Is there such thing? I always see 8/9/10 but never 7.

Any advice would be brilliant.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Its expensive. I dont think there are 7 speed STIs unless you get the old Dura Ace ones, which are probably a waste of money. You can get 8 speed Shimano STIs (Sora) which have the thumb downshifter and 9/10 speed which have paddles for up and down (tiagra upwards). I hate the sora thumbshifter, personally.

As you have to change the speed of your bike, you will need (at least) new cables, cassette and chain - if you go to 8 speed. This is assuming an 8 speed chain will fit through your rear derailleur and front rings ok - and not be too narrow.

If you go 9/10 speed I assume you will almost certainly need a new rear mech and front chainrings as the chain will be so narrow it won't go over them.

Shifters are about 150 quid (8 speed sora less, dura ace 10 speed, more)
    chain 15
    cassette 30

I can only guess what type of bike you have, but I would presume you would be better off buying an entire 2nd hand bike which comes with 8/9/10 speed. Now its coming up to winter there might be some bargains to be had, but remember with post TDF and olympics success the demand will be higher.
  • coriordan wrote:
    This is assuming an 8 speed chain will fit through your rear derailleur and front rings ok - and not be too narrow.

Non-issue, to the best of my knowledge. It's less than ideal perhaps to use a 10 speed chain with a 5 speed transmission (extreme example), but it will work.