A complete Newbie! Bike Question

andy1989
andy1989 Posts: 3
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

I am a complete newbie to road bikes and have been thinking about getting into it for a while now. I popped into Evans Cycles the other day and had a look and asked a few questions with regards to a beginners bike. I'd like to spend around £650-£900 on a bike of fairly good quality and that has a good spec on it. I have been drawn to the Specialized Allez Sport for £725 and the Allez Elite for £900. Both have Aluminium frames and Carbon Forks. I am obviously new to this sort of stuff so when it comes to brakes, gears and wheels I'm pretty baffled and don't know what I am looking at....

Could anyone lend me a helping hand into what they think of these bikes or if you have one, what is your review of it? Is there any other better bikes out there for the same price or less?

Thanks for your help.
Andy

Comments

• Hello, you can't go far wrong with an Allez but you really have to ride it to see if it's right for you. Evans are normally pretty good for test rides. At this time of year it's always worth looking at what 2012 models they have left as you could get a big discount.
  • Don't concern yourself too heavily with specs. A £50 old banger from eBay is good enough for a beginner. If it has drop bars and it fits you, it is basically worthy. There is no need to worry about brakes or wheels (one of mine cost about £30), and though it's worthwhile opting for 10 speed rather than 9 (more upgrade choice; some people don't like the Sora levers), it's hardly something to worry about, and it's not like a bike of that price is actually worth the upgrade or likely to last, so it doesn't matter what's on it.

I wouldn't spend over about £700 (there isn't £200 of difference between a £700 bike and a £900 bike), and you have nothing to lose in buying a Carrera for £400 if it means that you can spend money on the other things that you will need.
  • Hi there,