Navigating new courses

foxydan
foxydan Posts: 83
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All,

Firstly I want to say I am fairly new to cycling. Been at it around 6 months now. I want to know how do people naviagte new courses without a GPS. I am toying with the idea of getting one of these as everytime I want to do a new course, which is fairly regularly as live in london, I like driving out to the countryside (essex often) and riding there. The problem I have is always getting directions off, creating some sort of map, sometimes getting lost whilst on route - all a bloody pain. Do other people do the same as me? Do you have similar problems? Is GPS the way to go?

Thoughts?

Comments

• Chris87
    Chris87 Posts: 224
    I find its really helpful to go on a site like mapmyride.com then once I have a route I'm happy with run through it on google street view. This way you can get a visual reference for when you have to make a turn, I've got a bit of a dyslexic memory so visual cues work better for me than trying to remember directions.

Though to be fair I always have my iPhone on me as well just in case I take a wrong turn
  • mcp73
    mcp73 Posts: 94
    I haven't had the luxury of a GPS device with mapping, so I tend to pull up Googlemaps before any new excursion. Using that, I plot a route, taking note of village names, road numbers and turnings. Having a good knowledge of the area clearly helps, but when cycling to new areas this method works well for me; though I do have a memory that works well for names and directions. I haven't yet become irrevocably lost and there is always some signpost giving the correct direction to somewhere you've heard of. I suspect that were I able to afford a GPS device with mapping software, I would probably make use of that option.
  • andyeb
    andyeb Posts: 407