Advice on appropriate messenger bags

englander
englander Posts: 232
edited September 2012 in Commuting general
Hello everyone,

On the strength of the sound advice I was offered last time asked a question on Bikeradar, I feel it necessary to ask for people's opinions on my latest quandry.

As of next Monday, I will be commuting 7 miles each way to university in London. I have a trusty old messenger bag from my school days but it's terrible to ride with because it keeps slipping around to the front and getting in the way of my leg. So, after some research I've discovered the wonders of stabilising straps which hold the bag in place. I found a fairly good example of the type of thing I'm looking for on Wiggle.

The reviews certainly look good - are there any other bags around that price point (or cheaper - I'm a poor student :/) that are worth considering? The bag I linked is, if anything, a tiny bit larger than I require. I need to carry the odd A4 folder, papers, 15.6" laptop (dedicated pouch not an issue) and a D lock.

I tried searching on Amazon but I'm struggling to find any.

In short: cheap messenger bags with stabilising strap, suggestions?
Specialized Allez 2010
Strava

Comments

• Hi I just wanted to say that I think the one you found on Wiggle is a good choice. Not sure if you possibly want to consider a rucksack as your commute is rather long? You're certainly to be congratulated for your dedication to university! I got a messenger bag (ages ago) from http://www.chapmanbags.com. I realise its not exactly within a student budget but mine is waterproof and still looks new, I'd recommend one of these to anyone. Good luck!