Cycling cleats?

jkboxall
jkboxall Posts: 79
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm new to cycling, and bought a second hand road bike recently.

The pedals on it have clips to attach cleats (probabaly the wrong terminology here!), but what sort of shoes /clips will i have to get to fit them? Below is a picture of one of the pedals!

2A1BF553-910A-4636-A289-B88DB9E7004F-2132-000000CC5374803C.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    that pedal takes a MTB cleat. so you are looking at MTB or touring shoes. or fit some road pedal.

more info here

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... and-cleats
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Giraffoto
    Giraffoto Posts: 2,078
    That looks like Shimano's either/or pedal with an SPD clip on one side and a flattish pedal on the other. They're great pedals and last for ever, although not the lightest. With these pedals you can proceed with caution by getting used to riding with the non-SPD side of the pedal, then get yourself some cleat-equipped shoes, and then when you're really happy with them (which shouldn't take long), swap them for some lighter pedals with an SPD clip on both sides. The cleats you need are called SM-SH51, and will fit to most MTB or touring shoes.
    Specialized Roubaix Elite 2015
    XM-057 rigid 29er
  • Cheers for your help chaps :D

Recieved my cleats today, fitted them, and looking forward to my first ride with them tomorrow :D

Any tips? ;)
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    jkboxall wrote:
    Cheers for your help chaps :D

Recieved my cleats today, fitted them, and looking forward to my first ride with them tomorrow :D

Any tips? ;)

Unclip before you need to stop!
  • karlth
    karlth Posts: 156
    nochekmate wrote:
    jkboxall wrote:
    Cheers for your help chaps :D

Any tips? ;)

Unclip before you need to stop!