Fixed gear

GSJ
GSJ Posts: 150
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Looking to purchase a fixed gear bike purely for commuting, what can you guys suggest?

Comments

• GSJ
    I'm a noob, what kind of ratio is this Single speed with 18T fixed cog & 16T freewheel ?
  • Here is a start

http://www.cooperbikes.com/bikes/1/Sebring

Condor make one as well

Surly
  • I'd build one if I were you. Find an old steel road bike with horizontal dropouts for less than 100 and convert it...

Either that or get an On One Pompino. :)
  • GSJ
    I ride a 52x17 normally it's got a few hills but nothing where I have to move up a gear. Do you think I'd be able to ride a 44x16 easier or harder?
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    52/17 is track gearing. I use 42/16 on my fixed wheel bike. Nearly the same as 44/17. I can just about get up most hills round here and reach 32 mph down hill (just).
  • I run 44/17. Spin out at about 32mph but it's a decent general ratio. Bear in mind you're gonna stuggle up steep ascents, but I manage (in hilly Bristol).

As been said; just buy an old Raleigh/Peugeot/Whatever and strip it, then just buy a single speed rear wheel.
  • GSJ
    AH yeah! I live in bristol too! my commute is basically straight which I done today in 30mins going slow (not to mess up my hair) had to test it out i'm a vain guy lol
  • GSJ
    My next question is, i'm 5'5 maybe even smaller, so it's hard to find a smaller sized bike, now a singlespeed is even harder to find. Could I get away with a 53cm viking? or 52cm Releigh.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 43,174
    GSJ wrote:
    I'm a noob, what kind of ratio is this Single speed with 18T fixed cog & 16T freewheel ?

That's a 'flip flop' hub. You have a sprocket either side of the hub. One is fixed (the 18 tooth in this instance) and the other is a freewheel with 16 teeth.
  • John.T
    Pross wrote:
    GSJ wrote: