First Sportive - Short or Long Course

northdown83
northdown83 Posts: 4
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,

Looking for some advice about completing my first sportive this weekend. I am fairly new to cycling and have been mainly commuting in and out of work for the past 2 months - a 24 mile round trip - each day, but with no longer rides.

I am taking part in the Giant's Causeway Coast Sportive on Sunday. As i had yet to manage any longer rides i entered the 36 mile event rather than the 80 mile. Now i am closer to the event, i am beginning to wonder if i should try to give the longer course a bash. Grateful for any views if it is possible to manage this kind course without any long rides under my belt.

Thanks for any views!

http://www.giantscausewaycoastsportive.com/

Comments

• nickel
    nickel Posts: 476
    To be brutally honest I'd say if you've never cycled further then 24 miles then you're best off sticking with the 36 mile route. Just had a look at the route map (I apologise, Im not familiar with the area in the least so can only go by the garmin route data), there's over 5000ft of climbing, which is quite a lot if you've never done a ride of that length with that many hills. It may well be doable but will be slow and painful. If I were you I'd do the 36 miler, you can then build up distance on your own if you want, if you feel ok with the 36 mile route perhaps go out on your own the following weekend and aim for 50 miles? From there you can build up distance by say trying a 70 mile route. You could always aim to complete a long sportive next spring to keep you motivated over winter.
  • Thanks for the advice Nickel. When i thought it through at the start, i was sure the shorter route was the best start for me. I just had a nagging feeling that i might be missing a good oppertunity, so good to have a dose of reality to confirm the shorter course is the right option.