Pedal/Shoe upgrade advice for newbie

nick5573
nick5573 Posts: 5
edited September 2012 in Road general
Hi,

I expect this has been done to death in the past but please humour me!!

I want to upgrade my pedals and buy some bike shoes but don't really know where to start at the moment.

I am quite new to cycling and recently bought this hybrid for £290. Its a fantastic bike and is giving me the bug!!

http://www.discountbicycles.co.uk/biz/p ... um=organic

I've been on it every night since I got it around 10 days a go and I plan to commute to work when I start a new job Monday week. If I stick it out and get into cycling properly (which I think is looking very likely) then I expect I will splash out and get a full roadbike next summer and just use this bike for my commute.

But this bike comes with the strap type pedals which I am not keen on. Should I get clip ons? what are the key things I need to know? Any pedal/shoe recommendations for my type of use? I would ideally like shoes I can wear comfortably off the bike as well.

Thanks for your help?

Comments

• You may or may not benefit with Clipless pedals most Clipless users tend to be full road bike riders or ocassionally some mountain bikers you will need to decide which clip you want

Spd-- are a small clip which use very small pedals which can be clipped in from both sides.

Spd-sl-- are a larger clip and tend to be used for road biking the clip In from one side and more aero.

If you would transfer them to a road bike I would recommend spd-sl. However I suggest you don't get Clipless if you are commuting as it meand you need to wear cycle shoes to and from work and a decent pair of pedals cleat and shoes will cost a minimum of £120. I would recommend you get some flat pedals as you can wear any shoes and step of when you need to and you don't need to change shoes.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Cate ... goryID=209