Struggling With Confidence When Going Downhill

iluvstaffies
iluvstaffies Posts: 34
edited September 2012 in MTB beginners
I am very new to mountain biking, never done it before and just got my beginner bike a few weeks ago, a Carrera Valour. I live close to Sherwood Pines so I have been up there a few times to have a go on the trails. Did the green one first with my son and was fine, I haven't been on a bike for quite a few years so thought it would be a good start!

So progressed onto the blue trail now and am really struggling with the downhill bits :oops: . I just don't have the confidence to keep off the brakes. Then while I am braking I end up skidding and that panics me even more. I don't know why, I'm not bothered about getting hurt, it's more the embarrassment of coming off I think :oops:

Will my confidence just build up eventually do you think? Why do I keep skidding all the time? Every time I touch the back brake I seem to end up skidding on something and it's always when going downhill at speed, then I can't seem to keep my balance either. Aaarggh lol.

Any advice would be great :)

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Just ride, it'll come. And gently on the brakes. Use the front mainly, not the back, which they probably taught you when you were a kid.
    The front has all your weight on it and will stop you, the rear is unweighted so will skid.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • No wonder I am skidding then, I am mainly using the back brake. I just think I will go over the handlebars if I use the front. Will give it a go and take it steady. Thanks for that!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Move your weight back.
  • Ok, do I still use the front brake?
  • cooldad