Lycra shorts

doublem_1
doublem_1 Posts: 266
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
I am new to cycling having only gotten my road bike today. However, a few days ago my lycra shorts arrived and I have tried them on a few times but cant seem to shake the look and feel that I am incontinent hah!! The padding looks weird, I'm sure it'll be fine once I'm on the bike though. Did anyone else feel the same?

Also, does cyclists wear boxer shorts under their lycra? And t-shirt under their jersey?

Comments

• Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    No, no and no. Padded shorts are designed to wear directly against the skin, wearing underwear just adds seams that will rub and chafe. In the winter you will need to wear layers under your cycling jersey - tshirts are ok but base layers like Marino wool are better for cold weather.
  • Ec0
    Ec0 Posts: 24
    My family have made a few comments that I sometimes look as if I've had a bit of an accident when I have mine on :lol:

They're designed to be used without underwear. I've had mine on both with and without and to be honest I find they're a lot more comfortable without, plus the lycra does a better job of keeping your skin dry and comfortable without.

And a breeze on the town halls is quite nice a couple hours in on a warm day :lol:
  • Gizmodo wrote:
    No, no and no. Padded shorts are designed to wear directly against the skin, wearing underwear just adds seams that will rub and chafe. In the winter you will need to wear layers under your cycling jersey - tshirts are ok but base layers like Marino wool are better for cold weather.

That.