Which Bike: Genesis Core 30 or KHS Alite 2000

trailsam
trailsam Posts: 6
edited September 2012 in MTB buying advice
Right,

I'm a fairly novice biker, upgrading from a pretty basic 2007/8 Giant Yukon, budgeting around £500 - £700 for something suitable for riding anything up to red routes (pretty poorly) at trail centres and general trails, singletrack, nothing too extreme or jumps etc. The likes of hopton woods, forest of dean etc

I'm wanting hardtail with a half decent fork.

Has anyone got any opinions on either of the following:

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/produ ... _Bike_2011

http://www.khsbikes.co.uk/bikes/khs-alite-2000

I realise they're perhaps slightly different animals, and the KHS is probably more XC orientated, but any advice/opinions would be helpful.

I have looked at Boardman's, but struggle to find any decent comment on quality, and maintenance, how the components last, what the SRAM kit is like etc, I'm not adverse to them as I'm quite capable of the maintenance, just very wary of Halfords assembly and long term ownership in terms of quality.

Cheers,

Sam

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    There is nothing wrong at all with the quality of the Boardman, some of the best parts you can get for the money, and the best fork here. Would be my choice.
  • chez_m356
    chez_m356 Posts: 1,893
    supersonic wrote:
    There is nothing wrong at all with the quality of the Boardman, some of the best parts you can get for the money, and the best fork here. Would be my choice.
    or even this http://www.decathlon.co.uk/81-2012-id_8168918.html
    Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 10- CANYON Nerve AM 6 2011
  • With the above comments said (and very valid of course Boardman & Rockrider seem excellent value) both the Genesis and KHS would be still be great bikes for your purpose and capable of much more. I personally like the Genesis, but the others may still offer a bit more bang for your buck.
  • chez_m356
    chrisw333 wrote: