New road cyclist needing help on tyre PSI....

GarethHunt
GarethHunt Posts: 21
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm new to road bikes and the valve for pumping the tyres up is different, how much air is needed and can anyone suggest the best pump to buy?

Comments

• I use a Topeak Mini Dual G. Excellent pump and small enough to put in a saddle bag on mount to my frame. It has a tyre pressure gauge and is dual action so it pumps the tyre on both movements of the cylinder.

About £20 from Halfords, highly recommended!
  • You are best buying a cheap track pump, and a mini pump to take on a ride.
    You will be able to put 100 psi in to the tyres with a track pump.
    Building:
    S-Works Venge, Ultegra DI2, Carbon Clinchers
    Race:
    Moda Stretto, Force Groupset, American Classic Carbon 58`s

Winter:
    Whyte Suffolk, Hydro Disks

Retro:
    Tommasini Super Prestige Full Campagnolo C/W Delta`s
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Tire pressures http://sheldonbrown.com/tires.html#pressure
    A useful chart here http://www.bikequarterly.com/images/TireDrop.pdf
    Work out your total weight (you + bike and gear) . Split that 60% on the rear, 40% front and the use the chart to lookup the pressure.

You should have a track pump for your home, Topeak Joe Blow about £25, and either a pump or CO2 cartridge to carry on your rides.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Gizmodo wrote:
    You should have a track pump for your home, Topeak Joe Blow about £25, and either a pump or CO2 cartridge to carry on your rides.

Definitely not 'a pump OR CO2 cartridge'. If you want CO2 that's fine but make sure you take a pump as well unless you have an understanding support team!
    Faster than a tent.......
  • pinno
    pinno Posts: 52,102
    Rolf F wrote:
    Gizmodo wrote:

Definitely not 'a pump OR CO2 cartridge'. If you want CO2 that's fine but make sure you take a pump as well unless you have an understanding support team!