How do I climb out the saddle?

ben@31
ben@31 Posts: 2,327
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Ok so I'm no Contador or Rodriguez duelling up that ridiculously steep 24% mountain yesterday.

RodriguezContador640.jpg

But, how on earth do us mere mortals hill climb out the saddle? After a just few metres going up the most gentle of slopes my legs give way :-( Is there a technique to this?
"The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    practice?

I'm no expert either - but I've battled up a (short) 20% climb - out of the saddle ...

Have you tried just riding a short distance out of the saddle - is it too easy? drop a gear or two - your cadence will be slower ...
    Other than that it is exactly what it is - you stand up and push down on alternate legs - pulling up on the handlebars to compensate - if you get really good you can pull up on the backstroke too ...
  • not really a technique I guess other than just push and pull at a regular pace... take a gear which doens't strain you too much and just push and breathe....

Suppose you could try squats and lunges off the bike with weights to build up strength in the legs but the best way IMO is just to ride those hills! :)
    It's been a while...
  • team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    you are having to raise your entire body weight, course it hurts at first.

each time you do it you will be able to spend longer out of the saddle, try leaning forward more.
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • Yeah...i stand up pretty tall and lean forward so my chest is more or less in line with my bars. But dont lean too forward you may lift up the front well and end up doing some kind of endo! LOL although that would be super funny, doing that clipped in up a steep hill would also hurt like a mother hucker if you came off