Club run crash etiquette.

Proff
Proff Posts: 41
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
I'm very new to club riding and after an incident that happened yesterday I just wondered about something.
If somebody crashes, clearly made a riding mistake, and brings someone else down. Is it polite to offer to contribute to the repair of the other riders bike repairs, or is it generally taken that you just sort yourself out?
Thanks

Comments

• i think it depends upon the situation. it it absolutly obviously you and it was not a genuine mistake then yes. but then again if happens and it were a result of somthing happening to you i.e. slowing etc, then not always depends on how you feel and the seriousness i guess. accidents happen and as long as people understand that then its fine most of the time. so depends on the person the thing broken or damaged etc. bit off an odd one. of the crashs ive seen its mostly a sorry and an offer to pay occasionally but normally the other person will just sort it out themself but saying that its never been anything serious. plus its a bit unfair to make sombody with no money pay for a new set of carbon tubs haha
  • dashik
    dashik Posts: 156
    Well at the moment I'm not working as my partners I'll so I could just about afford my own bike and have insurance for that. If I was fit enough to ride with a club then the op's point would be enough to stop me.

No way would I be falling out with people in a club over not being able to pay for the repair to someones £5k carbon special.
  • It is a problem... especially since people ride bikes worth thousands... my view is that accidents happen and it's often very difficult to point the finger at someone's mistake.
    Ride with people of similar experience and avoid riding very expensive equipment if you expect others to cover your bills when you go down... that is sensible riding etiquette
    left the forum March 2023
  • Proff
    Proff Posts: 41