Weight and cycling

Werbo
Werbo Posts: 109
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Ok so i am pretty new to cycling, what i was wondering is how much does your body weight make to your riding? Im currently 94kg. Im not fat or over weight but i was thinking if i cut down to 80kg would i notice a difference in my riding? the two people i go riding with are between 70 - 80 kg so apart from there better bikes is this giving them an advantage?

Looking forward to your responses many thanks.

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Weight loss will give you a big advantage uphill. I weigh around 80kg, and ideally want to get down to 70kg. I really struggle keeping up with the young slim guys going up hill, but on the flat its not so noticable. Compared to when I was in my early twenties and weighed 70kg, now is like carrying two bikes on my back!!!!
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    At 94kg you will have a considerable advantage on hills...going down them that is.
  • Bobbinogs wrote:
    At 94kg you will have a considerable advantage on hills...going down them that is.

Fact.

I've gone from around 95kg to 85-90kg. Can't get near my Strava PB's on downhill segments now!!
    Canyon AL Ultimate 9.0
  • Werbo
    Thanks for the reply's, time and distance whys would the time gained up hill be lost going down hill? what about flat riding. Im stupidly competitive but my Mrs dosnt want me to loose any weight.
  • 120kg lifetime bodybuilder here. I got a bike on Friday and decided to try and hit the steepest hill in my County on my first outing. Needless to say I had to get off and push. Pretty sure I used to do it on a mountain bike, but then their bottom gear is a lot more suited to hills. I think it was a combo of bodyweight & gearing. Had not problem going downhill though. Hit 37mph with not much effort.