First sportive/century done. My thoughts

boogi11
boogi11 Posts: 354
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all

After all my worrying, it wasn't that bad. Here are my thoughts about the day.(Rutland sportive 109miles. But I did 120, il come to that in a bit

Initially very concerned when I got to the car park, everybody looked very professional ,some people had enough gear to open a small shop, it transpires that the old saying "all the gear and no idea " may be appropriate, as I finished in front of a large number of them, and I'm far from a pro bike rider. So don't get hung up on everybody else

It's been said a hundred times on here, and although I now agree with it 100% I totally ignored it. Go at your own pace and don't chase down packs in front, if you catch them great, if you don't you dont. At the start I though I was wiggo and nearly shot my load within the first ten mins, luckily we calmed down and 50% of the people that went past me were behind me at the end, which is surprising as i did an extra 11 miles

Follow the signs, it clearly said, sign for the junction, another sign after the junction to confirm direction, I new after 1 mile we were going in the wrong direction, took me another 5 to turn around, what a knob, in fairness we did stop and another group,of riders went past us so we presumed we were ok! If you not sure stop, biking an extra 11 miles is demoralising .

Take a good friend with you, I'm packing an extra couple of stone, and really struggled on the hills, my mate stuck by me all the way, he could have left me at any point but didn't, and for that I am thankfull, regardless how many people are doing the event, if you don't take a friend you will be on your own for a long time.