Tyre Advice

dukepaulus
dukepaulus Posts: 18
edited September 2012 in MTB buying advice
Apologies if I'm asking something that's been asked many times before.
I'm new to mountain biking and have recently been bought a Specialized Rockhopper.
Now that I've got to the bottom of a clicking noise in the crank area I'm looking at replacing the tyres and would like to go for something a bit fatter than the ones that are on it.
I'm looking for a general all-rounder and am considering the Continental X King or Mountain King in a 2.2inch width.
My questions are these.....
I've heard that tyres for mountain bikes are front and rear specific, is this generally true or will either of my choices be ok fitted as a pair?
Will I need to get size specific tubes for the larger tyres? I've read the posting by Jawa about Maxxis tyres and believe that the tubes I have should be ok but just want to be sure.
Any advice will be welcomed.
Thanks.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Your tubes should be fine. Some tyres are specific, others are not - it will say on them.

If going for continental, make sure they are the black chilli versions for the superior grip.
  • Apologies if I'm asking something which has already been answered many times before.
    I'm relatively new to mountain biking and have been given a Specialized Rockhopper as a gift.
    I want to change the tyres for some wider ones. The tyres on the bike are 1.95 inch and I'm looking to change to Continental X Kings or Mountain Kings.
    Are these a good choice for all-rounders?
    I've heard that mountain bike tyres are front and rear specific. Is that generally true or can I fit either choice as a pair?
    Will I need size specific inner tubes? I've read Jawa's posting about tubes for Maxxis Minions and think my current tubes will be ok but just need to be sure?
    Thank you.
  • MTBUK
    MTBUK Posts: 146