Buying my first road bike

Problym
Problym Posts: 3
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm new to road bikes in general and was looking to buy a bike in the £300-£500 range. I'm not interested in anything too high-spec, just something reasonably good and reliable. Had a look round some shops in town today asking for second hand road bikes, and one guy has a new "Bronx Monza" with slight damage to the paintwork which he's selling at half price for £325. It's a 60cm frame, which I gather is right for me at 6'4".

Now I've done a bit of Googling on the bike, but there seems to be very little information/reviews out there other than the stuff I've posted below. What do you guys think of it as an entry level road bike? I had a ride on it and I loved it, but then again the only thing I have to compare it to is my 8 year old city bike!

Any advice/comments would be appreciated

FRAME : 7005 Aluminium
FORK : EVO Alloy Racing
HEADSET : NO.11G+TH-875-1 Ahead integrated
SHIFTERS : Shimano 2300
REAR DERAILLEUR : Shimano 2303
FRONT DERAILLEUR : Shimano Sora 3340
CHAINSET : Suntour, 30/42/52,
BOTTOM BRACKET : VP-BC73, Cartridge
CHAIN : KMC-HG53
FREEWHEEL : Shimano CS-HG50-8 12-25 Cassette
HUBS : Shimano Alloy with QR
RIMS : Shimano Alloy double wall with CNC wall
TYRES : Kenda 700 – 26c
BRAKES : Tektro Alloy side pull
BRAKE LEVERS : Shimano ST-2300
HANDLEBAR : Alloy Racing
STEM : Alloy Ahead
GRIPS : Velo tape with plug
SADDLE : Velo Racing
SEATPOST : Alloy Micro adjust
PEDALS : VP-383, Nylon / Alloy
SIZE : 52 / 56 / 60 cm
Weight: 10kg

Comments

• Hi,