Looking for rides around worksop area

Cogsly
Cogsly Posts: 13
edited September 2012 in Routes
Hi all. I just wondered if anyone knew of any good rides around worksop area. Ive been using the local wood trails nr my house but they are quite short and i wanted something longer than a few km.
Loving the new bike and the new me i must admit.
thx in advance

Comments

• andhr
    andhr Posts: 88
    Sherwood Pines isn't too far away, there's a 10(ish)km trail there.

What're you looking for? Ups and downs? Steady jaunt around with some fun bits?

Clumber Park isn't too bad - there's some good bits off the beaten track. Depends if you have some transport to take your bike or if you're riding there. Gimme a shout, or PM - I live at the Worksop end of Rotherham and know a few bits.
  • Yeh i have transport bud and thx for the reply. Im looking into getting into the trail riding stuff but im a complete novice. Bought a new bike the other week (scott aspect 20) and already im bit by the bug like hell. Im already upgrading the bike for darns sake ( pedals and gel seat..that first saddle sore is a bugger). Am still waiting for tool kit and spare inner tubes to arrive but that should be either today or monday.

So i wanna get into it gently. The sherwood pines thing sounds like fun and 10k is a nice number. Might try and sneak of on sunday afternoon and check it out. Are the routes marked clearly? And what skill level does sherwood pines accomodate? Maybe clumber would be a better start?

Ive got a few friends who do the peak district runs regular but i wanna get some miles under the belt and a proper feel for the bike before i disgrace myself there!

Thx in advance and for your reply bud.
  • andhr
    Hopefully you get this before Sunday!

Sherwood Pines has a few routes, reasonably marked but lacking in a couple of places.