Looking for a light weight "sit up & beg" bike

carmenktj
carmenktj Posts: 7
edited August 2012 in Commuting general
Hello everyone,

I'm kinda new to the world of cycling. I used to have a bike when I was younger but then stopped riding when I learnt to drive. I've been on a bike a couple of times in the past year, I can still ride but not confident.. think that just needs to build the more I ride.

I want to have a change of lifestyle and start commuting to work by cycling.
I have tested a "Sit up and beg" bike ...really like the seating position and is very comfortable to ride.

At first I was looking at getting second hand, seeing as I'm gona be a newbie, but I realised cannot find a "sit up and beg" bike cheaply (under 100).

..So I think my only option is to buy new?

I've seen this bike: http://www.bikesdirect365.com/products/ ... adies.html

Can't find many places that sell Kingston brand but ebay and amazon.. anyone have any opinions on this bike or brand?

I would like a lightweight bike because I am small 5"1 and want something easy to manage (going up steps etc).

After doing a bit of research, found I like the look of the "Bobbin Brownie", weighing in at 13kgs sounds appealing.... but double the price of the Kingston Hampton! :| (Kingston Hampton weighs 17kgs)

They both have 7 gears, so useful if I take it on recreational adventures other than commuting.
They both have rear rack mounts, so I can put my shopping on the back.
They both look pretty.. have mud guards.. brown saddle and handle grips..
The Kingston has a basket, the Bobbin Brownie doesn't.. :?

Bobbin brand hasn't been around for long, Kingston-can't even find a website for them..

Can you give your opinions as to which bike I should go for? My intentions is to use this bike in replace of a car, to commute and supermarket shopping. Will the cheaper bike be just as comfortable and reliable as the expensive one?

Please do suggest any other bikes you might think is suitable :)

Comments