Any of you do moderate weight training as well?

Eternal-Bcb
Eternal-Bcb Posts: 25
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
So it was just a thought I've been having as I went to the gym this morning and have now just got back from a 25 mile ride, and wondered if any of you do 'moderate' weight training?

I've been doing it for a couple of years mainly as a way to stay fit before cycling but now alternate between the two during the week and on weekends do both. By moderate btw I mean in the sense of staying fit like I said before and not with the aim of packing on extra lbs of muscle.

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Yes, but it doesn't have to be moderate. Too much misconception is placed on the heavier the weight the bigger you bulk. People bulk because of the supplements they take. Merely lifting heavy weights won't make you bulk. You train to exhaustion so your last lift is almost a fail, so with heavy weight you achieve near failure after six or ten reps repeating the exercise three or more times. With light weights you need to do a lot more reps to achieve near failure.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Yes.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • Yes I do 4 weights sessions a week. Weights + cardio = win.
  • Avant
    Avant Posts: 29
    Yep - try and weight train 2x per week,.
  • edewer
    edewer Posts: 99
    yep, do 3-4 sessions a week to top up the cardio from the bike :)
  • DipLloyd
    DipLloyd Posts: 23
    Yes, I squat a lot and have found that I'm pretty good at sprinting because of it. Shame about my endurance though :roll: .
  • JamesB5446
    JamesB5446 Posts: 471
    Some times. I need to do more. I've got quite big legs, my squat and dead lift are ok. My bench is poor.

On this subject, any one have recomendations where to get cheap, decent-ish olympic weights from?
  • Avant
    Avant Posts: 29