MTB to Road

RamanSingh
RamanSingh Posts: 8
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
hey guys!,

as you can see im quite new to this bike stuff and just wanted to get some help and advice.

earlier this year i suffered a severe knee injury and have now begun my road to recovery. however my physico has advised me not to run due to impact on knees, therefore im getting back on my bike;

currently i have a erm.. Carrera Fury 08. from those 'good' old guys at halfords and am hoping to put change the tires to road. just until i can afford to buy a road bike. just wanted to know what kind of tire would be best or what i should be looking for and if its just as simple as taking the 'dirt' tire off and sticking the road tire on?

Thanks

RS

Comments

• lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    Well, a true road tyre (if we take that to mean a road bike tyre) won't fit as road and mountain bikes have different sized wheels. Something like this, however, should suit if you get the right size. Your mountain bike probably has 26" wheels.
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Yep just swap to some narrow slick tyres like City Jets. It's just for fitness so you're not too bothered about ultimate pace are you?
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • I put these on my mountain bike for road riding, they have been superb.

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_242553
    B'TWIN Triban 5A
    Ridgeback MX6
  • thanks for the replys!

@lc1981 - yeah their 26" does it matter how thick they are when sticking them onto a MTB

@DesWeller - i hope to start commuting to work,with the eventuality of getting onto a track been looking at the Dolan Pre Cursa, but wanna start off lightly, if that makes sense. been look at the City Jets. okay to start off with, right?

@♠ChumBucket♠ - there a little out of my budget, they seem great tho.
  • desweller