Bike repair rip off?

rob777
rob777 Posts: 48
edited September 2012 in Workshop
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to road biking and believe I may have been scammed by a local repair man. So I just wanted to get your take on it as you'll likely be more experienced than me.

My bike had a ticking noise and I took it to the repair guy as he was local. I said that it most likely needs a bottom bracket service as it had happened last year.

He had a look at the bike and said the BB was ok but that the large chainring, cassette and chain were all worn and should be replaced.

I agreed to the work. Picked up the bike a week or so later and got a £120 bill. He also fixed the chainring shifter as it was stuck.

On picking up the bike, it still made the ticking noise, although was quieter. While in his hands it had also "developed" a shifting issue with the cassette.

I took the bike back and he diagnosed an issue with the rear wheel freehub and said to leave it with him. He emailed me a few days later saying the factory was shut for August and if I wanted the bike quick I should get new wheels fitted. I agreed to this.

Picked up the bike with the new wheels. This time he also replaced the bottom bracket. The ticking had stopped but the gears were still faulty.

Took the bike back gain (stupidly) he took it apart and said I needed a new shifter and that I'd have to buy a pair. He said he didn't have the Sora"s in stock but he had some others he could fit that day. I agreed.

I picked bike up and at last the gears worked but the new shifters have left cables bursting out at the front of my bike. I think he should have warned me about this as all cables were pretty much hidden before. It's ruined the look of the bike.

Anyway, I have paid him £129 for the first bit of work, £151 for the Mach 1 wheels and fitting plus new BB, and he wants £120 for fitting the shifters even though the cabling is a mess and the shifting fault (cassette shifter) developed while the bike was in his care.