Newbie Tyre Question

Tangoringo
Tangoringo Posts: 35
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Im brand new to road biking having just 'come across' from sedate mountain biking so apologies if this is a daft question..so be gentle!

Are there any tyres which can offer a more bullet proof answer to the old puncture problem. Are there any practical suggestions for a good all round but titanium lined tyre or am I searching for the impossible?

Along similar lines are there any good winter training/wet weather tyres?

Thx in advance

Ian

Comments

• Secteur
    Secteur Posts: 1,971
    Schwalbe durano - used all year round
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Secteur wrote:
    Schwalbe durano - used all year round

+1. Durano S in my case but you can go standard Durano or Durano Plus depending on how cowardly you are :lol:
    Faster than a tent.......
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Durano or Continental Gatorskin, but honestly if you ride over thorns from hedge trimming or flint washed across the road, you've got no chance.

1. Check your tire pressures every time you ride, they should be about 100 to 115 psi depending on your weight. Under inflated tires are a major cause of pinch flats? See here for details.

2. Carry a spare inner tube, tire levers and either a pump or CO2 inflator and practice changing the tube. You should be able to change a tube in 5 to 10 minutes and finish your ride.
  • dcomp
    dcomp Posts: 43
    Ian, I am in almost the same boat ( except im a completely new cyclist) and have had 2 punctures in my first three rides. This mornings happened just as I got into my stride with a slight wind behind me doing close on 30.....and 5 miles from home. This one blew in 3 places and i decided to call for backup rather than fix it road-side.