Technological, pharmaceutical and behavioural doping?

powerbookboy
powerbookboy Posts: 241
edited August 2012 in Pro race
Been lurking on the forum for a while now, and I hope this isn't to presumptuous as a first post.

I'm intrigued by the black and white view of the whole Doping question that seems prevalent on these boards. Just a bit of background. I'm a crap cyclist, I studied Molecular Biology and Genetics at Uni, I assume that all top level athletes are "cheating" in some form or another. Let me explain what I mean by "cheating"...

All professional sport is about gaining an advantage over the other competitors. There are legal methods and there are illegal methods. The job of the athlete and their trainer is to find the loopholes that other people haven't and exploit them to increase the likelihood of them winning. Some people find and use the loopholes that are explicitly banned, but not testable. We've seen that for the last 50 years in cycling with PEDs. It's only since the science caught up with these preparation techniques that we've seen increasing emphasis on what I call "non-pharmacological cheating." British Cycling call this "marginal gains".

I'm curious to know what moral distinction you think there is between ingesting a performance enhancing drug that increases your oxygen carrying capacity, sleeping and training in a hypobaric tent, or training for months on end at altitude? All 3 methods have the same physiological effect - they improve your aerobic performance.