New to Commuting

NewbieCommuter
NewbieCommuter Posts: 4
edited August 2012 in Commuting general
My apologies if this seems like ANOTHER post about what to do, but the choices are overwhelming. I am new to commuting and I will be riding 18 miles one way from Hoddesdon to Stevenage everyday for work. I have access to showers at work, so thats not an issue. My problem lies in which bicycle to choose. I have been to several cycling shops where the advice has ranged from 29er MTB with narrow tyres to all out road bikes, hybrids or cyclo-cross bicycles. Most of my riding will be on B roads with one or two sections on A roads. Because I will be doing the trip daily for a couple of months (hoping years) I am looking for a robust bicycle that can do the distance quickly but still built to last the distance and the years of pedalling.

I would also like to do the odd bit of towpath riding with my wife over the weekends. I have looked at the Specialized Allez, but will this bicyle accommodate slightly wider tyres for the winter months and towpath riding, or should I be looking for a completely different set-up? Initally I will be carrying a change of clothes in a backpack, so a carrier is not necessary from the get go.

Any advice on a quality bcicyle purchase for the long term commute and weekend pedal would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Comments

• Hi and welcome. One question: how much do you want to spend?
    Ecrasez l’infame
  • Hi and thanks for the welcome. If at all possible I would like to be fully kitted for about £1000-£1500. I would be comfortable spending up to £750 on the bicycle alone.
  • godders1
    godders1 Posts: 750
    Budget?

18 miles twice daily is a fair bit of mileage (although doable). A road bike would be most efficient and most fun to ride (important when you’re spending all that time in the saddle). 25mm tyres would be fine on towpaths (most road bikes should accommodate up to 25mm at least).