Yeti SB66 Storm trooper

JONNYG4
JONNYG4 Posts: 15
edited August 2012 in Your mountain bikes
I have been looking at building a full suspension bike for the last few months. I saw the Yeti SB66 at Swinerton cycles a few months ago and fell in love but then I thought I will never spend that much on just a frame. A few months later I am a proud owner of the frame I fell in love with but I got £400 off bargain!

As I dont want to spend £6000 on a bike I am trying to stick to a budget so buying everything I see on offer. So far I have an slx groupset and a hope headset fitted to go with it.

As for the thread title I have decided this bike looks like a stormtrooper so I am going with a classic black and white theme!

I have never built a bike before so this is going to be a new experience for me! This should be a slow build as I dont have the money to buy everything in one go.

Frame.jpg

StormtrooperCorps.jpg

Comments

• The Force is strong with this one. :wink:

Sweet frame! deserves some equally good components
    SLX is good but don't hold back
  • DCR00
    DCR00 Posts: 2,160
    Niiiice

You could try sourcing 2nd hand. You can find XTR/XO thats been hardly used for pretty decent prices if you are prepared to look around.
  • Massive 'likes' for this, SWEET.

SLX is the groupset a storm trooper would use (i like to think), battle proven regulation issue kit :wink: Unless weight is your driving force its hard to argue against it.

What forks you thinking?

A white hub/rim combo with black spokes would look bad-ass!
    Blood, Sweat and 21 Gears...wait...no 27....30...arse 2x10?

Specialized Hardrock, 1997 Marin Nail Trail - current
    Giant Glory Merlin Malt 2 Big Hit Expert Marin B-17 Marin Nail Trail Diamondback Topanga - Gone but not forgotten
  • styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    An SB66 is a classic storm troopers bike.
  • M_rift04
    M_rift04 Posts: 504