So tried my local 10 mile TT route at the weekend.

2»

Comments

• Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039
    I rode my first ever TT last night at the age of 41. I am a vet apparently! It was 2 laps of a 4.1 mile course. There was quite a headwind in the first half and it was slightly uphill. Felt tough but coming back round again I felt like I was flying! Completed it in 25 minutes, average speed 19.4mph, average heart rate 177bpm max 185. The fastest time was 19 minutes by the club semi pro on a P4. He flew past me on my first lap like he was rocket propelled. I was quite satisfied having never TT before and not knowing the course. Plus I have only really been riding this year with any degree of seriousness. I am glad I did it , it took a bit of bottle as I haven't competed at anything for about 20 years but I overcame a strong fear of failure to do it so all in all quite chuffed. I reckon I can find 30 secs next time but aim to beat 24 mins next year.
  • pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    Calpol wrote:
    The fastest time was 19 minutes by the club semi pro on a P4. He flew past me on my first lap like he was rocket propelled.
    semi-pro? 19 mins for 8.2 miles? That's not quite 26mph average. I suspect either his time is wrong, or your description of him is wrong :wink: !!! Even I can go faster than that and I'm not even semi, let alone pro! :lol:

Well done on your efforts thus far, you'll soon be spending silly amounts of money on kit like the rest of us! :oops:

PP
  • Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039
    Pilot Pete wrote:
    Calpol wrote:
    The fastest time was 19 minutes by the club semi pro on a P4. He flew past me on my first lap like he was rocket propelled.
    semi-pro? 19 mins for 8.2 miles? That's not quite 26mph average. I suspect either his time is wrong, or your description of him is wrong :wink: !!! Even I can go faster than that and I'm not even semi, let alone pro! :lol: