Tyres for fast rocky Dark Peak trails

R8JimBob88
R8JimBob88 Posts: 285
edited August 2012 in MTB buying advice
Morning all,

So i've been running Nobbly Nics for almost 12 months. Never had a puncture until recently. I've found that I'm riding a lot faster in the last few months than previously as my confidence grows. The downside to this is I have at least 1 pinch flat per ride. Now i'm not a big guy and run at least 40psi but this is really taking the pi*s.

I'm aware that the sidewalls in the Nics are like paper but so far I havent had any tears *touch wood* and come to think of i, I have only ever had pinch flats, no thorns, nothing else just pinch flats. They are all in a different place on the tube each time.

So I have been thinking of going tubeless but think I will try some new tyres first.

There are just too many out there to choose from so would like to hear of any recomended tyres.

As mentioned above, they need to be able to take a proper beating on the hard, fast, rocky stuff in the dark peak area. But would also like them to be tubeless ready should I will to try that route later down the line. Not really bothered about light weight stuff.

Appologies as i'm sure that this has been discussed 1,000 times already.

Thanking you!
If you do what you have always done, you will get what you always got....

Comments

• benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    I'd recommend either schwalbe hans dampf or bontrager XR 4 (the new ones in 2.35). Both are great tyres with alot of air volume and tough sidewalls to give you support. Both will weigh a bit more than the nics, but that's the trade off I'm afraid.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • pilch
    pilch Posts: 1,136
    I was riding there yesterday I have a Hans Dampf up front & an Ardent on the back, I was using Nicks before too, didn't really have too many problems but I always run tubeless, no pinch problems unless you properly clout the rim and split your tyre.