Advice needed for a newbie!

bluedoggy
bluedoggy Posts: 285
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hello everyone! I'm a complete newbie to this sport and the only experience I had was twenty years ago as a downhill racer. Im very rusty to say the least! I have bought a Wilier Iozoard XP and was wondering what kit I need to get, such as shirts, pants, gloves, helmets, spd's What are good value? What brands are good and bad? What's the difference between a cheap helmet compared to an expensive helmet? You know where I'm comming from?
Any help would be fab and this will be the first of many treads from me......:0
Wilier cento uno.

Comments

• team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    edited August 2012
    Bluedoggy wrote:
    Hello everyone! I'm a complete newbie to this sport and the only experience I had was twenty years ago as a downhill racer. Im very rusty to say the least! I have bought a Wilier Iozoard XP and was wondering what kit I need to get, such as shirts, pants, gloves, helmets, spd's What are good value? What brands are good and bad? What's the difference between a cheap helmet compared to an expensive helmet? You know where I'm comming from?

You could try chrome cleaner!

Question overload! Too many questions in one post. You could try using the search to see answers to some of your questions as these are well covered.

On helmets, I have found that the more expensive the helmet the more holes you get, the lighter it is, great if you live somewhere hot, haven't found much difference in quality. FIT is the most important point, they all suit different shaped heads.
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Summer Clothing:
      Padded Bib Shorts - DHB from wiggle.com are well thought of
    see this thread
    (you don't wear pants under padded shorts)
    Short Sleeve Summer jersey - take you pick
    Short finger padded gloves for summer - best tried on so get down your Local Bike Shop
    Packable rain coat - see this review