New to cycling - cue stupid question about pumps

Clown_101
Clown_101 Posts: 2
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm new to cycling and have just bought my first road bike, a Boardman Race. I've been meaning to get a pump that I can attach to my bike as I'm currently riding round just hoping not to get a puncture but, being an absolute noobie, have no idea what to buy.

On my tires it says "145 psi" so my first question is, is this the maximum pressure or the optimum pressure for the tires?

Presumably I need a big one for home to get the right pressure and a more portable one (sorry I don't know names for things!) to attach to my bike so any advice on what pumps to buy would be great; I never knew how many variations there were! In terms of price I am a student so I don't want to spend money unnecessarily but at the same time if it means spending a little more to get a decent pump I'm happy to do so.

Thanks for reading and any help would be massively appreciated!

Tom

Comments

• snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    Track pump for home, portable pump for out and about but tyre pressures dont need to be 145. Some go for around 100-120psi but I usually run 100-110 rear and 80-95 front.
  • paulus69
    paulus69 Posts: 160
    Asda do a reliable easy to use track pump for around £15
    Me on Strava
    My cycling blog
    Specialized Secteur 2012 / Carrera Vulcan v-spec
  • tomhowells
    tomhowells Posts: 171
    Check out when Aldi & Lidl do their bike events. I got loads of stuff & all of it was fantastic! From track pumps, computers, tops, shorts & gloves. I have used most of it for about 4 months & it is really good stuff, so much better than the Sports Direct crap I originally bought!! And around 50% cheaper.
    Boardman 8.9 SLR - Summer
    Holdsworth La Quelda - Commuter
    Moda Intro - Winter
    Planet X Stealth - TT
  • Manc33
    Manc33 Posts: 2,157
    What tyres say 145psi on them?!

I thought 120psi was about the most.