Starting a new business

EKE_38BPM
EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
edited August 2012 in Commuting chat
After ages doing jobs I didn't particularly enjoy, I've retrained as a Bikeability Instructor and am soon going to start freelancing for an established company as well as being able to do my own thing on the side.

I've stumped up for the first part of training but to become fully qualified I'll need to spend a bit more and I'll also have the usual business needs (insurance, phone, PC, printer etc) as well as tools, increased wear and tear on clothing and bike. For all of this extra spending, I would like to get a business loan.

I have no experience setting up a business, so I don't know what I need to do for things like tax, how to get a business loan, what banks have the best business accounts and a million other things that I haven't even thought of (unknown unknowns).

Can the hivemind give me any practical advice on the things I need to do.

Ta.
FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!

Comments

• bigmat
    bigmat Posts: 5,134
    Was worried for a moment there that you were going to say that you were going into the traffic congestion forecasting industry...

Best of luck anyway, I have no experience with starting a business so will leave it to others to offer sage advice.
  • DonDaddyD
    DonDaddyD Posts: 12,689
    EKE_38BPM wrote:
    After ages doing jobs I didn't particularly enjoy, I've retrained as a Bikeability Instructor and am soon going to start freelancing for an established company as well as being able to do my own thing on the side.