Bikes for tall, oddly proportioned riders

hodgie30
hodgie30 Posts: 2
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to road cycling. Having always cycled about on an MTB, I started cycling on my Dad's road bike. He is considerably shorter than me though and I'm starting to realise if I want a bike of my own, it might be a little difficult to find one. Herein lies the problem. I'm 196cm (Just over 6'5") with a 2m (Over 6'6" and a half) armspan and a 94cm (37") inside leg... Does anybody have any idea what sort of bike might suit a frame (pun intended) like mine? Any help or direction would be much appreciated.

Comments

• giarc
    giarc Posts: 54
    Rose do very big frames - check out their geo on their website.
  • Penny farthing? (sorry, couldn't resist)
    B'TWIN Triban 5A
    Ridgeback MX6
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Treks suit odd people
  • It really depends on what bike you're buying.

With 'traditional' flat geometry road bikes, unless you buy made-to-measure generally you will buy based on the seat-tube length. This happens to work quite well because of the typical geometry of the bike, but it does mean that if you aren't of 'typical' proportions (whatever they are), you might find that the top tube is the wrong length for you even though the conventional wisdom says that the frame is the right size on account of the seat-tube length. Lots of people compensate with their stem lengths, but it's not the best way of doing it.

However, more 'modern' carbon and alloy road bikes with sloping geometries tend to have completely different sizing rules. It would seem that made-to-measure construction is less common with these bikes (though of course it does exist).