advice on Pedals/Cleats

Ni4ll
Ni4ll Posts: 2
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
I recently bought a pair of Shimano R064 SPD SL Road Shoes mainly because compared to others they were fairly cheap.
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=69973
and I'm looking to buy some clipless pedals and cleats. Since this is my first time looking at clipless pedals I'm extremely confused on what cleats/pedals I can buy to go with these shoes.

I am thinking of getting some Shimano M520 Clipless SPD Pedals
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=3759
And was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of cleats that could work with these, or with another pedal + cleat option, though i only have a budget of around £25-£35 for the pedals as I'm only a student at uni :(

Comments

• There are two Shimano cleat styles: 2-bolt and 3-bolt (SPD and SPD-SL respectively).

2-bolt is usually designated as 'MTB' or 'Touring', as the cleats can be recessed to allow for easier walking. Likewise, 3-bolt cleats are designed for road cycling; the cleat surface is larger to enable greater power transfer, and a non-recessed cleat enables a less bulky sole that is stiffer and lighter.

The pedals you mention are SPD. You CAN use SPD cleats with 'road' shoes, but you have to buy adaptors, and they won't be recessed if you do. The Shimano R540 is the cheapest SPD-SL pedal.
  • snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    May be wrong but most pedals come with the cleats otherwise you are wanting shimano sh-51 or sh-56 iirc
  • snoopsmydogg
    There are two Shimano cleat styles: 2-bolt and 3-bolt (SPD and SPD-SL respectively).

2-bolt is usually designated as 'MTB' or 'Touring', as the cleats can be recessed to allow for easier walking. Likewise, 3-bolt cleats are designed for road cycling; the cleat surface is larger to enable greater power transfer, and a non-recessed cleat enables a less bulky sole that is stiffer and lighter.