New commuter's bike ponderance

spatuluk
spatuluk Posts: 28
edited August 2012 in Commuting general
Hiya! I apologize in advance, as this post has turned into quite a ramble. :oops: Skip to the last paragraph if you like!

I'm pretty new to commuting (and this forum!).. I've attempted commuting before, but weather, horrible roads, bike failures, sleep deprivation (recently had a sprog!), and illness always seem to scupper things..

Now that I've had some sleep and forced a few gallstones through, I'm trying to cycle again! My commute is 7.5 miles each way, mostly on the A6 through Stockport to Manchester. My current bike is a 2004 Specialized Hardrock XC, and I'm starting to think that using it is a bit like trying to cycle through treacle. I put on some slick-ish tyres (Continental Town & Country), but I think they might actually be worse than the nobblies, as they're the same width, and the lack of nobbly bits means that there's probably more contact with the road. :?

Sooo.. I'm thinking I need to either stick a rigid fork on my MTB, and buy some proper slicks and possibly slimmer wheels, or I could dabble in the dark art of road bikes. Now, I've just bought a house and had a kid, so finances are somewhat on the restricted side, and I thought I might be able to get an old 80s road bike, like what I used to have when I was a teenager. I bought many for less than £25 back then, so they're probably about the same price now, I thought...

Imagine my surprise to find that Raleigh Winners, which I'd previously wrecked several of, are now being sold for over £100! I guess it's because so many were wrecked or scrapped, and they're now like classic bikes or something. I dunno. Anyway, I almost went back to the MTB idea, but then saw a dude who'd converted an old bike into a singlespeed, and noticed how much lovelier his bike looked compared to my shabby, fat, MTB. Some drooling may have occurred.. :roll: