Will I notice diff between 2013 Sora & Tiagra

antybrow
antybrow Posts: 10
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
I've been mulling what to buy and after a trip to Shorter Rochford (my LBS) am set on a Specialized Allez. Question is whether to go for the Sport or Elite.

I'm new to road bikes - and frankly haven't ridden a bike in ages. Question is whether I should stump up difference of £175 between the Sport which has Sora and Elite which has Tiagra. Otherwise they both seem the same.

Note these are the 2013 bikes, so the Sora no longer has the thumb shift that so many disliked.

Question is, as a newbie, will I notice the difference, or should I save that £125 / spend it on some other component?

Bloke in shop made clear that the order of importance of parts of a bike were frame, wheels, groupset, in that order. So perhaps go for the Sport and put £125 towards new wheels (I know it won't cover the whole thing).

Interested in the thoughts of the board. Thanks.

Comments

• Well I was going to suggest going with the sora as the thumb button can be intrusive - but then I see its the 2013 model. So in terms of comfort on the hoods they will be the same. I'd use the money for something else, enjoy the bike - you'll enjoy it more with better wheels - and change shifters later on. After all no matter the groupset all shifters do is pull a cable - the only real difference is weight and between sora and tiagra its tiny. Enjoy the bkeling. :D
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
    momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.
  • lucasf09
    lucasf09 Posts: 160
    Hi,
    Its good that Shimano finally got rid of the thumb shifter for Sora (they were a pain), so shifting will be pretty much the same on both groupies (typically slightly smoother, more positive, etc as you go you up, but you will probably not notice the difference as a newbie).