Gearing - Ironman

Max Bonkers
Max Bonkers Posts: 6
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Newbie here neding a bit of help, i am entering Ironman next year in Bolton. My current bike has 50-36 and 26-12 gearing. the course has 1 large hill with a partial undulating then flat section. would changing to say 53-39 + 30-11 be more beneficial. i have only commuted to work on an old MTB not sure which squeeked more the bike or the knees. I have picked up a set of rollers to train on and want to do a good time rather than just get round. Any advice would be fantastic. ps alcohol can lead you into all sorts of trouble

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    You can change the gearing on your bike any time you want. It only takes a few minutes to swap a cassette. If I were you I'd concentrate on getting my training plan under way and worry about the gearing for the event closer to the date.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • Rollers will not help you up the hills m8 regardless of gearing; a 30 - 11 may be difficult depending on your rear mech, as was said get out on the road and see how you do on your current gearing. A 39 - 25 will be quicker up hills but that depends on your body mass, fitness and climbing ability, but to answer your question a 53-39 should be fine with a 11 - 28. However........
  • bahzob
    bahzob Posts: 2,195
    "You can change the gearing on your bike any time you want. It only takes a few minutes to swap a cassette. If I were you I'd concentrate on getting my training plan under way and worry about the gearing for the event closer to the date." <<< Best advice. Gearing is fine tuning, you can only sensibly do it once you are in final prep for an event and have a good idea how fit you will be when riding.

With this in mind, the best guide for whether your gearing is OK or not is your cadence.