Newbie thinking of upgrades...

PaulSanderson
PaulSanderson Posts: 13
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi everybody,

Been around here a while now just lurking as I have recently got into mtb'ing (well, cross country'ing).

I got myself a Trek 4500 Disc hardtail as it was going to be my first "decent" mtb and being a hartail it suited my needs. I have been riding it for about a 10 months now and love the thing...but now im thinking of upgrading some components.

The stock Bontrgarer wheels/tyres seem to do the job for me at the likes of Thetford and around rural Norfolk wher I live, but what other combos could i consider?

What else should i consider upgrading?

Any info would be great!

cheers in advance,
Paul.

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Nothing until it breaks.
  • cheers chunker1980...the thing seems fairly robust so im not sure how long i could be waiting for something to break...although somebody else could come along soon enough and tell me treks are cr*p! :shock:
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    Regardless of what you think of the stock wheels, that's the point to start. For a couple of hundred quick you'll get some that are lighter, stiffer and more responsive and you really will feel that.

Then wait for the rest of the stuff to break........
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • thanks lostboysaint...could you recommend some good wheels to try out? i googled a few but got totally confused as to which were good or otherwise.Ta!
  • Chunkers1980
    Lot of good ones, we need to know budget first.
  • what would you recommend for between £200-300? ta!
  • Chunkers1980
    What is the full spec of your bike, if you have that much dosh might be better spent else where.
  • chunkers1980...here is the spec lifted from Treks website. the bike is still totally standard right now...