Halfords Cycle2work.

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
I have signed upto the cycle2work scheme my Halfords voucher for £500 comes in the next couple of days. I am going to wait until after the Olympics to get a bike and all the gear. I have been onto their website and they are not forthcoming with any real offers for additional stuff they can add. Tey have also sent me the details of other partner shops who accept the voucher but they are all too expensive for what money I want:

Trek 1.1 - 54cm - with a 170 crank - £550.00

2013 Specialized Allez Compact - 54cm - £550.00

Giant Defy 5 compact - 54cm - £549.99

Any other ideas of where and what I can do?

Berkshire Cycle Co.
207 High Street
Crowthorne

AW Cycles
110 Henley Road
Caversham
Reading

Hargroves Cycles
10 City Road
Winchester
Hampshire

Cycleworks Haslemere
19-21 West St
Haslemere
Surrey
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• richh
    richh Posts: 187
    edited August 2012
    I think that Condor Cycles in London also accepted the Halfords vouchers, but they seem to only talk about their own version on their website now so perhaps things have changed. Worth a call I'd say and only a short (ish) train journey away from your area judging form the location you've already identified.

Oh and as I used to live near Southampton and work in Farnborough I've actually been to a couple of the shops you've listed. Personally I found the one in Crowthorne utterly useless and was much more focussed on selling £100 bike shaped object to kids rather than proper road bikes. The info that the guy in there spouted about the specialized range for example was ridiculous (e.g. carbon only lasts 3-4 years before it "goes off" when trying to say why someone should go for the Allez over the Tarmac - I'm not joking!)