Noob Q's - Right Gearing For Hills Also Pedal Q

mystic.bertie
mystic.bertie Posts: 136
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
I just collected a new Carrera Virtuoso from halfords the other day, i had to remove the cheap toe clips and straps as they were a danger, the pedals are a bit small for my trainers. So whats a good replacement pedal with toe clips or should i be going for the clipless type and buying cycling shoes with cleats, im assuming this is an expensive option though for a beginner. :lol:

Another thing i was wondering, i have a front compact chainset 50/34t, if im cycling up steepish hills, as what point should i use the smaller front gear, if im using the larger front gear and in 2nd (cant cross the chain to 1st) and i start to struggle, is that when i should change to the lower front gear? Or is there another way of judging when i should use the lower front gear? :mrgreen:

Comments

• MattyyP
    MattyyP Posts: 142
    I'm new to road cycling too... So I can't answer your first question, but Ican give my input for your second! You really want to be changing down whilst you are still doing a high ammount of pedal rotations, as if you wait until you've slowed them down there will be a lot of load on the chain as you change down which will likely make it a poor quality change. What i'd say to do is go out on it and get used to what speed you can go at whilst in the lower front gear and perhaps a mid rear gear... That way you will know at what point to change down. The key is though to have changed down before you struggle!

All my advice is from riding off road though... I would think it is quite relevant though! Hope it helps :)
    Specialized Secteur Sport 2011
    B'Twin Rockrider 8 XC
    B'Twin Rockrider 9.1
  • You could get some larger size clips. MKS is the standard. Your existing straps and pedals should be fine.