What will a road bike do for me?

CleeRider
CleeRider Posts: 304
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all, complete newbie looking for some advice on buying a road bike, or not...

I'm 38 and I've just started out road cycling 2 weeks ago on a 15kg mountain bike. I'm going out every other day and have upped my distance from 7 miles to 15miles and average speed from 12.9mph to 13.8mph. The current route is mostly flat with 1 short climb of 110 feet which I struggle with but do 33mph coming down.

I don't wear any gear - just trainers, casual shorts and t-shirt lol :)
My only small problem with going further is saddle comfort - though I haven't had the bike properly fitted for me.

My big question is what would a road bike do for me? Would the reduced bike weight or other features of a road bike improve my speed? What are the other advantages?

One thing that puts me off (being a newbie) is getting my feet stuck in those cleats when I stop at a junction for example, and falling.

I would be grateful for any advice and personal stories of going through the same decision process.

Thank you

Comments

• Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    To be honest - the first thing you should buy is some proper padded cycling shorts!! Casual shorts will rub and potentially cause saddle sores - not what you want for comfort as they kinda hurt! :(

So what do YOU want from your cycling firstly? Planned istance, intended use etc??
  • ALaPlage
    ALaPlage Posts: 732
    That's a nice light MTB you have at 15kg.

Horses for courses and fit for purpose. A road bike is designed for riding on the road. Gearing and wheels as well as geometry all add to the mix. Less rolling resistance means the bike and you roll better with more power going down onto the road. Gears suitable for most hill climbing and generating speed on the flat.