Looking to buy my first road bike...

MattyyP
MattyyP Posts: 142
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi guys!

Just looking for some advice on what to look for! I've been riding off road on full sus bikes for about 5 years now, starting when I was 14! Lol! Decided i'm looking for something that is a little less dirty for weeknights!

Anyway, i'm looking to spend less than £300 at first really, as i'm not sure how long i'm going to stick at it for... Was just wondering if anybody had any examples of good road bikes between the £200-300 range! I've seen one that is £189... I can't help thinking this is too good to be true...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TEMAN-Mens-Ra ... 4aba092000

I'm pretty confident that the Shimano components will be good enough for me for now, however i'm not sure about the brakes and wheels on it... As they are a lot different to anything I have experience with!

Anyway any advice and help will be kindly recieved!

MattyP!
Specialized Secteur Sport 2011
B'Twin Rockrider 8 XC
B'Twin Rockrider 9.1

Comments

• Mickyg88
    Mickyg88 Posts: 289
    I wouldn't touch it matey, says its shipped from London but look at the description, whoever is selling it can't speak/write in English, appears to be someone selling a no name bike made in Indonesia or similar, keep well away.
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    Better at that price range to look for something 2nd hand. Getting the right size is the most important thing mind, so try plenty of bikes out if you can. The most important measurement is "Effective Top Tube" length.
  • blackhands
    blackhands Posts: 950
    You could look at the Triban 3 at Decathlon - really as low in price (£300) as you really want to go for a new bike. I'm sure that there are plenty of people on here who have experience of these.
  • Normally I'd be sceptical of any new bike in that price range, but this Raleigh looks OK.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2011-RALEIGH- ... 58948a8979