Commencal Meta SX vs Santa Cruz Nomad vs Lapierre Spicy

smile4luv
smile4luv Posts: 5
edited August 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hello

I want to buy a potent full suspension bike that would climb well and descent even better (as I like downhill more).
I was thinking about the above three models and my budget would be up to £3000- £3500.

I want a bike with 160 mm travel as I intend to use it abroad as well (have big mountains in the country I am originally from and I`d like to take it on some freeride spins there :D).

So, I was thinking about these bikes, in the order of my personal preferences:
1. Commencal meta SX - read very positive reviews, I understand it`s very nice on descents
2. Lapierre Spicy (516/916) - good rounder, 916 is very light as well - 12.2 kg only!
3. Santa Cruz Nomad - read very many positive reviews by users

I think another option would also be an orange Alpine 160, but the problem is that I really HATE the way it looks!

I am quite new to mountain biking, I currently have a Specialized Rockhopper that I bought it as a second hand bike, but I find it quite poor for all mountain and quite hard on your back.

I read a lot about bikes lately, but I still don`t understand all the technical terms and differences between different models (for example between the different nomad versions).

I would really appreciate your advice and I will take it into account before making any decision, especially that it involves lots of money. Advice regarding the weights for the above bikes would also be useful, as I couldn`t find much details online (except for Lapierre bikes).

Thank you,
Alex

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Lappierre will be the lightest but also the most likely to snap. I would go for the Nomad, great bike.
  • Dirtrider
    Dirtrider Posts: 1,611
    i love the commencal, that frame is so nice.

There all great bikes, try them out and see which you prefer.
    For Sale:

Specialized P3 Frame