Over used chain ... Damage

spoonerwatkins
spoonerwatkins Posts: 2
edited August 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi there, I was wondering if anyone could help me, I'm a little new to bicycle repairs although am fairly competent with a spanner etc. as I work in a mechanical environment. I am embarking on a fairly long ride in a couple of weeks and have been servicing, checking and setting up my bike to ensure it will last the duration and all is well, however, my brother has decided to join me and has asked me to look at his bike too. On inspection I have noticed a number of problems some of which I have been able to fix but also some with which I need a little assistance...

Upon checking the chain stretch the wear indicator suggests it is resting at about 2mm, looking further I have realized that this has caused further damage, the chain-set outer and middle rings have several teeth missing, and, through either this or as a cause of the problem there is about 3mm of play in the bottom bracket. To top it off when I decided I would take a look at the bottom bracket it looks like someone has tried before and failed! ripping the thread out of the crank...
This leaves me with several questions.

How might I remove the chain-set in order to replace it without a thread to work off of? (jig and puller?), what might suffice as a compatible chain-set or can I simply replace rings as funding is limited; if so where do I get them from?
Lastly if I find a way to remove the chain-set what is the procedure for removal and re-fitting of the bottom bracket and can it damage the housing having been used in this condition?

On the upside the rear cassette appears un-damaged and potentially re-usable.

The specifics of the bike are as follows:

Make/model: Carrera Hellcat, not sure what year.

Chain-set: Powerflo front PFF with SR Suntour AP 550 cranks (175mm?) Rings are 42 tooth outer 32 mid and 22 low.