Which Bike??? AAgh!!

Raggamuffin
Raggamuffin Posts: 3
edited August 2012 in Commuting general
I am totally new to this, hence the post.... i have cycled most of my life and normally purchase simple straight forward run of the mill average bikes from some of the larger shops you normally find in those horrible shopping areas on the outskirts of small towns and cities...I shall not mention any names here except to say my last experience was awful and i have sworn never to step foot across their doorway again.. long story short i currently cycle a hybrid that was bought for as a birthday present and i am not mad keen about...but to be fair it does exactly what it says on the tin...
i have recently saved up a little bit of cash and am in the market for a new bike. i have been trawling the interweb and magazines to try and get good value for money, good build quality, something i like the look of, and something that will do me in the city for buzzing in and out of traffic and also on the open road if i feel like getting away from my adorable girlfriend for a few hours. i am 6 ft 2 about 15 stone (not my ideal weight, hence the bike). i have an inside leg of about 32cm. i'll be honest i looked at the likes of the identit persona and the moongoose maurice and thought "yeah thats me!" but then i realised i am kidding myself.. what i am looking at more seriously though is the likes of the genesis flyer, on-one macinato or the kona band wagon?? (single speed or fixed as i have never had been mechanically minded though happy to try and learn) and it's pretty flat were i live....