What is the best device for Strava (Off road)

Paul 8v
Paul 8v Posts: 5,458
edited August 2012 in Health, fitness & training
You'll have to forgive me if this has already been covered, I've had a look on the search and can't really see anything with regards to this. I've got an upgrade due for my phone soon and I'd like to start using Strava. Would it be better to use it on a mobile (If so which are good for mounting to a bike) or through a device like a Garmin? The Garmin seems very dear if I'm getting a phone anyway but is there any big advantage through using it?

I've never used Strava before so I will need a bit of help! Does it work well offroad? There's quite a few routes I've seen near me but they're mainly on the road so I'd have no chance against someone on a roadbike!

Cheers

Paul

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    The GPS in a smartphone is of questionable accuracy, certainly on shorter segments.

On the other hand, I'd not buy a Garmin purely for Strava use.

I use an Edge 705 for all training stuff (and upload to Strava) and it's very good.
  • Paul 8v
    That's what I was worried about, a lot of the strava segments near me are quite short and the off road ones are quite twisty so I was worried it would get confused like when a sat nav thinks you're on a different road that runs parallel to the one your on. so I take it the other advantages of the Garmin are the cadence etc when it comes to training? I need to break myself in gently as I'm recovering from a back injury and I don't want to overdo it, can you set training parameters on the Garmin?
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    It's probably a safe bet that about 99% of the segments on strava have been recorded using a smartphone. I find the accuracy is good enough and it detects the segments 99% of the time.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • Paul 8v