Advice for a newbie!

BillyBoomhauser
BillyBoomhauser Posts: 5
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
Hey guys, complete newbie here. :oops:

My workplace has a cycle to work scheme going with EvansCycles (up to £1000) and I've been looking into getting into MTB.

I'm planning on using it mainly for woodland, trails, hills and general beaten-track terrain. I don't plan on using it too much on paved areas. As a bit of an adrenaline junkie I'll likely look into more difficult terrain, descents and possibly even jumps as I become more experienced.

Budget isn't a major issue to be honest, obviously the scheme goes up to £1000 but the rest can come out of my pocket. I don't want to go nuts but I'm willing to pay more for a bike which is going to last and has quality components.

That being said does anyone have any ideas about which MTB would suit me? I've been advised a Rockhopper is a good choice and will try one out shortly. I'd much rather ask you guys this question than someone who's job is to sell me something more pricey that I don't need.

Thanks in advance. :)

Andy

Comments

• waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571
    Are you allowed to top up the fund? Some schemes do not allow it.
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • Hi Waby,

Yeah, I spoke with an EvansCycles chap earlier today who said I could go over but anything over the £1000 mark would come out of my pocket on the day of purchase.
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    Are you limited to Evans cycles? What would be your max budget?

I would suggest if you are wetting your toes in the world of mtbing that you go with a hardtail for your first bike, for a grand you can expect decent forks, brakes and shifting on a hardtail where as for full suspension you would be looking at spending more to get something not so well specced.