Finding some where to ride ?

darrenduds20
darrenduds20 Posts: 20
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
Is there a website or anything to find somewhere good to ride near Retford , nottinghamshire

Comments

• waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571
    Why not ask in the Rides section. Or find a local club.
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • Anton85
    Anton85 Posts: 11
    Hi im new to all this and found Sherwood Pines in nottingham and Whanrcliffe Woods in Sheffield which are in your area they look great to get started in XC, im off to Sherwood Pines tomorrow.
  • Hi mate i just found sherwwod pines on the web lol I have been watching the vidoes on youtube , it looks well good , i am going to have to get myself down there i think , the red and black route look a bit hard .
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    Hmm, weird I thought I posted a reply to this - my internet thing must have had an issue.

If you hit Routes and Riding above (in the header) and log on to Bikely it is a resource of peoples routes - can be a bit hit and miss and can be a bit roadie oriented but I know I have put some of my local rides ont here in the past. Search on your area and bingo may get lucky.

Alternatively, join a local club and get shown some routes.

Ask around your local bike shops, they may be able topoint you in the right direction or may host club/store rides fromt he shop on certain evenings, great way to get shown routes, meet riders etc.

Final option, and one I enjoy is to grab an OS map and work out routes involving as much bridleway and "permissive" footpath and as little road as possible. Learn your local network of paths, work out what is a good up and whats a good down then share those routes on line to help others through Bikely or similar sites.