HR monitor advice for base training

samsbike
samsbike Posts: 942
edited October 2012 in Health, fitness & training
I have been commuting for around 4 months (2 days a week) and had no improvement. Then reading around and getting advice, I learnt that riding like I stole it was not doing me any good.

So now I am trying to train to around 65% of of MHR.

Is there any reason why a HR monitor, something around the £20, should be sufficient?

Is there any advantage to the higher devices?

My issue is that I have no idea how long I will continue cycling for, especially when the weather turns and the only time I get to get out is on my commutes (which is 1.5hrs ish each way)

thanks

Comments

• itguy2
    itguy2 Posts: 88
    Well, you're right in saying that a lower heart rate training burns more fat and that a higher heart rate makes you more cardio fit.

So, 65% is good for fat, you'd need to be in the 75+ for cardio really.

I have a polar ft4 watch which came with a fabric chest strap and find them both excellent. I put the watch on my handlebars and just leave it on heart rate view mode when im riding. Very inspirational to see it when chugging up hills - especially if you know that your cardio heart rate is (say) 160 and you're only working at 140... I always just have an internal word with myself and say "come on chap, youre no where near what you can do, you're just being a wimp".

Works every time ;)

Lapierre Zesty 514 &
    Orange Crush 2010
  • dubcat
    dubcat Posts: 737