Newbie cadence and gearing.

ben@31
ben@31 Posts: 2,327
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi, I am new to road cycling. Where I live is reasonably flat with the occasional long easy angled slope.

Probably because I'm a newbie, I'm finding I prefer a slow steady cadence. The problem I'm finding is that everywhere I go, I'm always using the biggest chainring on the front and at the rear I'm using the smallest half of the cassette. When I get up to speed on the flats or decend the long sloping ground, I seem to run out of high gears.

I don't have a problem running out of low gearing... there's no real hills here that needs a 28 sprocket, I'm reasonably fit and a glutton for punishment.

I can't seem to grasp a high cadence, it seems unnatural to me and it feels like I'm peddling like mad to make little ground.

What should I do? Work on getting a faster cadence or is it worth changing the front chainset for something a little bigger? I currently have a 50 x 34T chainset and a 9 speed 12-25 cassette.

Thanks for any advice
"The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby

Comments

• Ringo 68
    Ringo 68 Posts: 441
    How fast are you going when you run out of gears?

I have been riding for a year now and have had to use my highest gear once and that was at speeds approaching 40mph on a steep downhill. I can cruise on slight downhills (with a tail wind) at 23mph and never come close to using my highest gears (50/34 with a 11/28 rear)
    Cube Agree GTC Pro
    Boardman Comp
    Carrera Subway Hybrid
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Go for a 11-23 cassette and consider a double chainset 53 x 39
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    ben@31 wrote:
    Probably because I'm a newbie, I'm finding I prefer a slow steady cadence.